Posted on

Need a plumbing license in Orange County Florida?

Need a plumbing license in Orange County, FL ?

A recent incident with a Advanced Drying Systems Incorporated, Tampa, FL spurred this article.  Recently had damage done to my residence by  Advanced Drying Systems Incorporated, Tampa, FL.  Long story short…they “played” plumber and used incorrect plumbing caps when cutting off some water supply lines in a bath-room.  Caps blew off (literally) and approx. 1000 gals of Florida’s Finest Water washed through my 2nd story.

It made me think.  Who can work on my plumbing legally?  What type of credentials must they a have? And this is what I found…

 

 

  • A Plumbing Contractors license is required in Florida for any job that involves the trade. Anyone seeking to become a plumbing contractor in Florida is required to sit for two exams, business and finance and the trade.
  • Applicants must document four years of experience. Applicants are also required to provide a credit report and financial statement that is no more than 12 months old. A net worth of $2,500 – $20,000 (depending on classification) is required.
  • The minimum general liability insurance that is required for licensure is $100,000 for bodily injury and $25,000 for property damage.

What can be done under this license:

  • A “plumbing contractor” means a contractor whose contracting business consists of the execution of contracts requiring the experience, financial means, knowledge, and skill to install, maintain, repair, alter, extend, or, when not prohibited by law, design plumbing.

(note that the definition includes the word “alter” and “repair”- this is definitely an area requiring a plumber.)

Taking this a step further… Florida requires a licensed plumber for any work that includes connecting lines to potable (drinking) water.  Bathroom sink faucets are definitely potable water.

Courtesy of AllStar Plumbing

What is the penalty for a company who ignores Florida Law, like Advanced Drying Systems Incorporated, Tampa, FL and proceeds to alter or repair a customer’s potable drink water supply lines for compensation?

Section 489.127, Florida Statutes, provides as follows:

(1) No person shall:

(a) Falsely hold himself or herself or a business organization out as a licensee, certificateholder, or registrant;
(b) Falsely impersonate a certificateholder or registrant;
(c) Present as his or her own the certificate or registration of another;
(d) Knowingly give false or forged evidence to the board or a member thereof;
(e) Use or attempt to use a certificate or registration that has been suspended or revoked;
(f) Engage in the business or act in the capacity of a contractor or advertise himself or herself or a business organization as available to engage in the business or act in the capacity of a contractor without being duly registered or certified;
(g) Operate a business organization engaged in contracting after 60 days following the termination of its only qualifying agent without designating another primary qualifying agent, except as provided in ss. 489.119 and 489.1195;
(h) Commence or perform work for which a building permit is required pursuant to part IV of chapter 553 without such building permit being in effect; or
(i) Willfully or deliberately disregard or violate any municipal or county ordinance relating to uncertified or unregistered contractors.

Thus, there are nine different ways to commit a crime of unlicensed contracting in Florida. Proof of any one violation is sufficient to sustain a conviction.

For purposes of the Florida statute, the term “Certificate” means a certificate of competency issued by the Department of Business and Professional Regulation. “Registration” means registration with the department in accordance with Chapter 489, Florida Statutes.

The term “Contracting” means that the accused engaged in the business of a “contractor,” as defined in Section 489.105, Florida Statutes. The statute defines “contractor” as a person who is responsible for a qualifying construction project and the person who, for compensation, undertakes to, submits a bid to, or does himself or herself or by others construct, repair, alter, remodel, add to, demolish, subtract from, or improve any building or structure, including related improvements to real estate, for others or for resale to others.

DOING WORK IN FLORIDA THAT YOU ARE UNLICENSED FOR OR NOT CERTIFIED TO DO IS A CRIME!!

In Florida, unlicensed contracting is generally charged as a first degree misdemeanor, with penalties of up to 1 year in jail or 12 months of probation, and a $1,000.00 fine.

However, if the accused has been previously convicted of contracting without a license, the offense may be charged as third degree felony, with penalties of up to 5 years in prison or 5 years of probation, and a $5,000 fine. A third felony may also be charged where a person contracts without a license during a State of Emergency, as declared by executive order.

Have an unlicensed or uncertified contractor to report in Orange County, FL ?  -CLICK HERE-

or call ;1.866.532.1440 (inside Florida) or 850.488.6603 (outside Florida)

Therefore, our water-dry or water damage mitigation company ( Advanced Drying Systems Incorporated, Tampa, FL ) appears to have broken the law in addition to acting in a negligent manner.  This of course is OUR OPINION!

Have you had a similar incident occur?  Let us know.

-CLICK HERE TO POST A COMMENT OR ASK A QUESTION-

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *